Tuesday , November 24 2020
Home / Tag Archives: fines

Tag Archives: fines

Happy New Year and Buckle Up in Tennessee!

A recent amendment to a current Tennessee law will hurt offenders a little more in the wallet if they are convicted of driving without wearing a seatbelt in Tennessee. Tennessee Code Annotated § 55-9-603(a)(2) specifies the fines for driving without wearing a seatbelt in Tennessee. Since the law’s inception through 2015, a violation of this statute has been a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a $10.00 fine for the first violation, and a $20.00 fine for a subsequent violation. Payment ... Read More »

Tennessee – Tough on DUIs!

A 2015 study conducted and released by Wallethub.com, a personal finance website, ranks the strictness and/or leniency of penalties relating to DUI convictions in each state and the District of Columbia.   Analysts for the company based their ranking system on several different factors including, but not limited to, mandatory minimum jail sentences and fines, administrative driver’s license suspension, length of time that an Ignition Interlock Device is required to be used by a DUI offender, and average monetary increase of ... Read More »

Clerical Error May Cause Wrongful Revocation of Driver’s License

On January 25, 2013 the Knoxville News Sentinel reported that this month, the Tennessee Department of Safety (TDOS) commenced driver license revocation actions against at least 1,279 people without proper legal justification.  According to this publication, an error occurred when Knox County officials submitted a list to the TDOS of people that had not timely paid their litigation taxes and/or fines (commonly referred to as “court costs”).  After receiving letters from the clerk’s office that noted a failure to pay ... Read More »