Friday , December 3 2021
Home / Tag Archives: breath test (page 4)

Tag Archives: breath test

Factors Affecting Oklahoma Intoxilyzer and Breathalyzer Tests

Breathing into a Intoxilyzer can feel like testifying against oneself. From the perspective of the person being subject to a breath test, there is no reasoning with it, and no arguing against it. Our faith in modern technology means that technology cannot lie. Or so police officers, prosecutors and their expert witnesses would like you to believe. But is that really the case? Are breathalyzer/Intoxilyzer tests infallible? Part of establishing the existence of a reasonable doubt when it comes to ... Read More »

Felony DUI Law Coming to Colorado?

Last year, Senate Democrats in Colorado killed a bill that would have made repeat DUI offenses a felony offense in Colorado, much to the surprise and chagrin of the proposed law’s supporters. But now a Weld County state representative is trying again, with a new bill that, if passed, would classify a charged driver’s third DUI in seven years as a class 4 felony.  A class 4 felony carries a 2-6 year prison sentence followed by a mandatory 5 year period of parole.  The ... Read More »

The Oldest Question: Do You take a Test?

Well, it may not be the oldest question, but it may be the most important. Since the 1940’s and the onset of cheap blood alcohol testing, it is one that lawyers and defendants must initially face following a DWI arrest. Should you or shouldn’t you take the test? The answer to this, like everything else in law, is it depends. Like predicting the weather, the answer to this question turns on a variety of factors. While much of what I ... Read More »

Massachusetts Implied Consent

Do you hold a Massachusetts license? If so, know that you have already consented to taking a breath or a blood test if you are ever arrested for operating under the influence (OUI). Meaning, it is implied that if you have a MA driver’s license, you consent to a chemical test. Even if you do not hold a MA driver’s license, but are arrested for OUI in MA, you are also subject to MA’s implied consent law. You have every ... Read More »

More Problems with the Alcohol Testing Program in Florida

For years, the State of Florida Alcohol Testing Program, a division of the Florida Department of Law Enforcement has been denying that they possessed the software used in the Intoxilyzer 8000 in Florida.  When the Intoxilyzer 8000 first starting being used in Florida the software in it was version 8100.26.  Many judges throughout the State ordered FDLE to disclose the software in their possession.  In response the State allegedly sent all copies of the software back to CMI, the manufacturer ... Read More »

Breath Alcohol Doesn’t Exist!

An essential fundamental of experimental science is that if something can’t be measured, it does not exist. One noteworthy scientist, Mr. William H. George, phrased it this way: “[S]cience is measurement. If I cannot make measurements, I cannot study a problem scientifically.”[i] Understanding this primary tenant, a follow-up question might be; how precise must a measurement be in order to study something scientifically, and furthermore, if the thing being studied is not measured precisely, then does it exist at all?  ... Read More »

Breathalyzers and the “Mouth Alcohol” Problem

One of the most common causes of falsely high breathalyzer readings in DUI cases is the existence of mouth alcohol. The breathalyzer’s internal computer is making a major assumption when it captures a breath sample and then analyzes it for blood alcohol concentration (BAC): It assumes that the alcohol in the breath sample came from alveolar air — that is, air exhaled from deep within the lungs. Since we are trying to measure how much alcohol is in the DUI suspect’s blood, rather ... Read More »

Paying Police to Arrest You! A growing trend in Virginia.

You decide to go it alone – skip hiring a DWI defense attorney – and you get convicted of a DWI.  You pay a $250 fine that becomes almost $500 with court costs.  You pay a $300 entry fee for the Alcohol Safety and Action Program and even more for treatment and classes.  You pay $600 to $800 for ignition interlock so that you can begin to drive again.  You pay a DMV reinstatement fee.                 You file for FR44 ... Read More »

Florida switches from Frye to Daubert

Beginning July 1, 2013 Florida law changed.  Florida had been using the Frye standard; however, we have now switched to what is known as the Daubert standard.  The Daubert standard comes from the Supreme Court’s 1993 decision in Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc. The old standard, Frye, focused on the underlying scientific principles looking to see if they are sufficiently established and have gained general acceptance in their field.  Florida’s new law is found in section 90.702 which was ... Read More »

McNeely and Forced Blood Draws in Virginia

Under the implied consent law in Virginia, you are required to give a breath or blood test if an officer arrests you for driving under the influence. If you’ve been in an accident and end up at a hospital, the officer will usually ask for a blood test. You have the power to refuse, but will then face a separate refusal charge with additional penalties. The officer then has a choice to obtain a warrant for a forced blood test, ... Read More »