Sunday , March 7 2021
Home / Tag Archives: underage DWI

Tag Archives: underage DWI

Tennessee Repeals New Underage DWI Law

July 1, 2016 was a highly anticipated day for many in Tennessee: for the very first time, wine was available for purchase in grocery stores. Gliding in under the radar, perhaps because of all the hype surrounding the grocery store wine revolution, were many other changes to Tennessee’s alcohol-related criminal laws. One such legislative update changed the way that Tennessee handled a small and categorically difficult class of individuals: underage DUI defendants. These are people ages 18 to 20, who ... Read More »

No Powdered Alcohol for Sale in Tennessee

The Tennessee Senate has approved legislation in 2015 that would ban the sale of powdered or crystalline alcohol in Tennessee. Specifically, Senate Bill 0374 would make it a Class A misdemeanor offense to sell the product. A similar Bill ( HB0404) has been filed in the Tennessee House of Representatives. A Class A misdemeanor generally carries a penalty of from straight probation to 11 months, 29 days in jail; a fine from $0 to $2,500; or both, plus court costs. ... Read More »