Wednesday , March 3 2021
Home / Tag Archives: penalties

Tag Archives: penalties

Tennessee DUI Laws Could Get A Lot Tougher

The Tennessee Senate Judiciary Committee has now approved legislation known as Dustin Ledford’s Law.  This would increase penalties for all multiple offenses of driving under the influence (DUI) offenders to Class E felonies with a minimum sentence of 11 months, and 29 days. Under current law, persons convicted of a second DUI offense must be sentenced to no less than 45 consecutive days nor more than 11 months 29 days; third offenses result in a sentence of no less than ... Read More »

Tennessee Increases Jail Time for DUI Offenders with Six or More Convictions

Tennessee is again increasing penalties for multiple DUI offenders.[1] The 2016 Tennessee General Assembly amended Tennessee Code Annotated §55-10-402 to penalize more severely those who are convicted with six or more DUI convictions. This change applies to anyone committing an offense on or after July 1, 2016. As the law currently stands, a conviction for a 4th or subsequent DUI offense is a Class E Felony, which has a punishment range of 1-6 years. Accordingly, the law does not change ... Read More »

Happy New Year and Buckle Up in Tennessee!

A recent amendment to a current Tennessee law will hurt offenders a little more in the wallet if they are convicted of driving without wearing a seatbelt in Tennessee. Tennessee Code Annotated § 55-9-603(a)(2) specifies the fines for driving without wearing a seatbelt in Tennessee. Since the law’s inception through 2015, a violation of this statute has been a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a $10.00 fine for the first violation, and a $20.00 fine for a subsequent violation. Payment ... Read More »

Tennessee – Tough on DUIs!

A 2015 study conducted and released by Wallethub.com, a personal finance website, ranks the strictness and/or leniency of penalties relating to DUI convictions in each state and the District of Columbia.   Analysts for the company based their ranking system on several different factors including, but not limited to, mandatory minimum jail sentences and fines, administrative driver’s license suspension, length of time that an Ignition Interlock Device is required to be used by a DUI offender, and average monetary increase of ... Read More »

2012 Tennessee DUI Legislation Update

Tennessee DUI Laws 2012 Two new Tennessee DUI laws now make it more difficult to defend persons accused of driving under the influence.  In another change, the DUI penalty when the driver is accompanied by someone under the age of 18 has increased. The 2012 Tennessee Legislature amended Tennessee Code Annotated § 55-10-406 (the Implied Consent Law).  This law applies after an officer concludes that a person is probably under the influence of an intoxicant and then requests the suspect ... Read More »