Thursday , July 16 2020
Home / Tag Archives: arrest (page 3)

Tag Archives: arrest

Felony DUI Law Coming to Colorado?

Last year, Senate Democrats in Colorado killed a bill that would have made repeat DUI offenses a felony offense in Colorado, much to the surprise and chagrin of the proposed law’s supporters. But now a Weld County state representative is trying again, with a new bill that, if passed, would classify a charged driver’s third DUI in seven years as a class 4 felony.  A class 4 felony carries a 2-6 year prison sentence followed by a mandatory 5 year period of parole.  The ... Read More »

New York Reaffirms Aguilar/Spinellli

In People v. Johnson, a Deputy Sheriff armed with a 911 call describing “a sick or intoxicated motorist” stopped the Appellant for a “wide right hand turn” well outside of his jurisdictional limit. At a Mapp hearing (Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643, 81 S.Ct. 1684 [1961]) to determine whether there existed sufficient probable cause for the stop of the vehicle, the Deputy admitted that he did not know the identity of the caller or the basis upon which the ... Read More »

Nonadjudicating DUIs in Mississippi

Last year we wrote this blog about some of last year’s changes to Mississippi’s DUI law. This year,however, even more changes were included in Mississippi House Bill 412. The updates are numerous and will take effect on October 1, 2014. Of all these changes, however, nonadjudication must be the most talked about. While called different things in various states, nonadjudication simply means that the guilty plea is withheld and the case is dismissed once the offender completes certain court-imposed conditions. In other words, it’s a ... Read More »

The DWI Exception to the Constitution is Alive & Well

There is no actual DWI exception to our Constitutional rights; however, DWI Attorney Lawrence Taylor popularized the term to describe numerous Supreme Court rulings that act as if there were. (See http://dwimanual.com/our-attorneys/what-motivates-us/ for more.) A number of DWI Attorneys have written excellent blogs about the Navarette case – but a previous Virginia case that was before the Supreme Court showed once again that the DWI Exception to the Constitution is alive and well. Harris v. Commonwealth of Virginia shared a ... Read More »

DWIs- Today’s Dangerous Politics

“In politics, stupidity is not a handicap.” -Napoleon Bonaparte Studying history helps to understand how governments use federal agencies, police departments, and courts to perpetuate illegal witch hunts for political causes. Let’s look at the 6 million Jews that the German government killed in Europe. People forget that it was not renegades who caused the Holocaust. Instead, it was the politicians and the courts. The parallels between the successful government campaigns of the Nazis in World War II and today’s DWI ... Read More »

DUIs are Forever . . . in Virginia

Among the Top 10 Questions that I am asked:  “How long will a DUI be on my record?” Virginia makes the answer easy:  DUIs are forever. Virginia has no provision to erase or expunge any misdemeanor or felony conviction no matter how much time has passed.  It is true that a first or second DUI (both misdemeanors) will only “count” against you as a previous DUI for 10 years, but as of July of 2013 felony DUIs now count against ... Read More »

Loss of Concealed Carry for DWIs in Virginia

While the concealed carry law was NOT changed in Virginia this year, the very long concealed carry section was reorganized into a number of smaller sections.  The result:  courts are increasingly requiring defendants convicted of DWI to relinquish their concealed carry permits. And this is for people that were NOT carrying while DWI.  The penalty for concealed carry while intoxicated is another Class 1 misdemeanor with up to a $2500 fine and a year in jail.  Your weapon will also usually be confiscated ... Read More »

DUI and Your Career

When most people think about a DUI arrest or conviction, they immediately think about spending the night in jail or having to pay a fine.  But those are just the most obvious effects.  In Mississippi, there is also mandatory alcohol safety education, a victim’s impact panel, and high-risk insurance, all of which add significantly to the costs and time involved; the insurance alone can cost thousands of dollars in increased premiums.  But what many people overlook is potentially the most significant ... Read More »

Paying Police to Arrest You! A growing trend in Virginia.

You decide to go it alone – skip hiring a DWI defense attorney – and you get convicted of a DWI.  You pay a $250 fine that becomes almost $500 with court costs.  You pay a $300 entry fee for the Alcohol Safety and Action Program and even more for treatment and classes.  You pay $600 to $800 for ignition interlock so that you can begin to drive again.  You pay a DMV reinstatement fee.                 You file for FR44 ... Read More »

McNeely and Forced Blood Draws in Virginia

Under the implied consent law in Virginia, you are required to give a breath or blood test if an officer arrests you for driving under the influence. If you’ve been in an accident and end up at a hospital, the officer will usually ask for a blood test. You have the power to refuse, but will then face a separate refusal charge with additional penalties. The officer then has a choice to obtain a warrant for a forced blood test, ... Read More »