Sunday , March 7 2021
Home / Tag Archives: multiple offenders

Tag Archives: multiple offenders

Tennessee DUI Laws Could Get A Lot Tougher

The Tennessee Senate Judiciary Committee has now approved legislation known as Dustin Ledford’s Law.  This would increase penalties for all multiple offenses of driving under the influence (DUI) offenders to Class E felonies with a minimum sentence of 11 months, and 29 days. Under current law, persons convicted of a second DUI offense must be sentenced to no less than 45 consecutive days nor more than 11 months 29 days; third offenses result in a sentence of no less than ... Read More »

Third and Subsequent Offenders May Still Buy Alcohol

UPDATE: 2015 Tennessee DUI Legislation News As previously reported in this DUI news blog, Tennessee Senate Bill 0699 and House Bill 0744 proposed legislation that would have prohibited an individual convicted of 3 or more Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charges to purchase alcoholic beverages, including intoxicating liquors, wine and beer. According to the Tennessee General Assembly Website, on April 21st, 2015 the Senate Finance, Ways, & Means Committee recommended Senate Bill 0699 for passage. On the same day, however, ... Read More »

Third and Subsequent DUI Offenders Not Allowed To Purchase Alcohol?

Because the number of people receiving their third DUI (Driving Under the Influence) offense is growing (751 persons in 2014 and 900 expected in 2015), Tennessee lawmakers have devoted much time and effort toward reducing the number of people who violate Tennessee Driving Under the Influence laws for a third or subsequent time. One solution has come in the form of a new proposed law. Endorsed by both parties, this legislative bill would ban people convicted of a third or ... Read More »