Monday, April 22, 2024

DUI News Blog

The Latest DUI News and Information From DUI Defense Attorneys Across the Country

True Cost of a DUI in Washington After Insurance Increases

According to Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD), Washington state ranks 25th in the nation for the highest number of drunk driving fatalities. If you get caught driving under the influence, you are putting yourself and others in danger, and the ticket itself is not the only price you will pay. In addition to the fine, drivers who receive a DUI might have to deal with attorney’s fees, alcohol education fees and lost wages, among other costs.

One of the longest-lasting financial impacts from a DUI comes in the form of insurance increases. In Washington, car insurance increases will last on a driver’s record for five years after they receive a DUI.  The minimum fine for a first-time DUI in Washington is $940.50, but the resulting car insurance premium increases for the average Washington driver will be almost 2.5 times the initial fine—drivers will pay $2,334.01 more for insurance over the course of five years.

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *