You decide to go it alone – skip hiring a DWI defense attorney – and you get convicted of a DWI.
- You pay a $250 fine that becomes almost $500 with court costs.
- You pay a $300 entry fee for the Alcohol Safety and Action Program and even more for treatment and classes.
- You pay $600 to $800 for ignition interlock so that you can begin to drive again.
- You pay a DMV reinstatement fee.
- You file for FR44 insurance and start paying large car insurance premiums. You think all the bills are done . . . and then . . . you receive a bill through the mail . . . to reimburse police for arresting you!
The Code was enacted in 1997 to reimburse the fire department and emergency medical services mainly for car accidents caused by drunk driving. In 2004, the Attorney General for Virginia verified that the fee could not be used for routine DWI traffic stops and arrests.
5 years later, the law was broadened to cover arrests all arrests for driving while intoxicated. With decreasing tax revenues, a growing number of counties and cities are sending out bills to those convicted of driving under the influence.
The law allows the locality to charge you a flat fee of $350 or, with a detailed accounting, up to $1,000. All of this is to reimburse officers for arresting you!
For more information, go to http://dwimanual.com/table-of-contents/2_punishment/reimburse-police-for-arresting-you/
Our passion at Tillotson & Martin, L.L.C., is defending citizens against unfair traffic & DUI laws. We write the book for DWI defense for Virginia attorneys and provide seminars for attorneys on how to beat the breath test machine. We train extensively to develop and improve cutting edge defenses. Our attorneys are active National College for DUI Defense members, are certified in NHTSA Field Sobriety Testing, and are trained to interpret breath test and blood test data.