This July, Virginia will require everyone convicted of DUI to install an ignition interlock device if they want a restricted license. Judges differ whether the July 1st date applies to all those convicted after June 30th or those arrested after June 30th and subsequently convicted.
The Washington Post estimates that the new law will cause 18,000 people per year to spend about $500 for a six month installation. The Post also estimates a 400% increase in the amount of people needing installation. In some areas of the Commonwealth it already takes 3 to 4 weeks for installation. How long it will take after July 1st is anyone’s guess.
The new law does allow people to “pre-qualify” for ignition interlock by enrolling in the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) before trial. The hope is that this will skip you ahead in the long line of those waiting for interlock. Under current rules, this privilege will cost you at least $300 in ASAP fees. Of course, this fee is nonrefundable if you are found not guilty.
Below is a recent article in the Richmond Times Dispatch on this very subject of Ignition Interlock for All DUI/DWI’s in Virginia:
 Virginia Ignition Interlock Law for First-time DUI Offenders Sparks Controversy, The Washington Post, April 9, 2012, available at http://www.drugfree.org/join-together/alcohol/virginia-ignition-interlock-law-for-first-time-dui-offenders-sparks-controversy.